General Information and Forms
The Corporate Income Tax Section handles corporate and S-corporation tax returns.
Corporate income tax is a non-graduated percentage based on a corporation's federal
taxable net income. Corporations that own property, do business in Georgia, or
receive income from Georgia sources are subject to corporate income tax. The rate of taxation is six percent of a corporation's
Georgia taxable net income.
Certain corporations also pay a net worth tax. This tax is based on the net worth
of a corporation and is levied in exchange for the privilege of doing business or
exercising a corporate franchise in Georgia. The minimum tax is $10 for a net worth
less than $10,001. The maximum is $5,000 for a net worth in excess of $22 million.
Click here to view a list of corporate tax forms. If
you do not see the form you need, or for additional information and assistance,
contact the Corporate Tax Section at 1-877-423-6711 or by email to
Answers to Frequently Asked Questions
Does GA have a Franchise Tax and a License and Occupation Tax? When are they
Franchise Tax and License and Occupation Tax is called net worth tax. It is reported
on Form 600 or 600S and has the same due date as a regular corporate return.
How many years can a loss year be carried back and what is the appropriate form?
Generally, a loss can be carried back 2 years and should be documented on Form
Is net worth tax due on the final return?
Do we mail a copy of a federal audit report to GA or do we need to file an amended
You should file an amended return and attach a copy of the report.
What is the statute of limitations for filing an amended return?
You can file an amended return up to 3 years from the later of the date the tax was paid or the due date for filing the return (including extensions).